

DYTES LAND FIVE OF THE BEST

Steve and Bob top season averages

Steve Pascoe and Bob McDonald were the season's stars for Warrandyte Cricket Club's premier A-grade team.

Pascoe won the batting trophy with an average of 57.57.

Leg-spinner McDonald took the bowling award with the remarkable average of 9.8.

Trophies were presented at the club's wind-up at the Mullum Social Club rooms on March 29.

Main winners in all grades (in order of batting, bowling, fielding and captain's or team manager's trophy):

A-grade: S. Pascoe; R. McDonald; R. Bowen; B. Kline.

A-Reserve: D. Stanley (batting and bowling); D. Stockley; B. Chapman.

E-grade: John McGrath; G. Edwards; C. Keating; Ain Utt.

G-grade: J. Peters; L. Bellinger; J. Scicluna; S. Revell. I-grade: R. Milton; C. Chipperfield; C. Dorning: R. LeGuier.

Women: J. McLaws; M. McGhee; K. Roberts; K. Bentlev.

Under-16: B. Kline: D. McDonald: C. Townsend: N. Davis (team manager's trophy).

Under-14: B. Scicluna; N. Watkins, J. Voce, R. Dorning.

Under-12A: D. Peters: T. Sturesteps: M. Day: R. Kline.

Under-12B: C. Day; B. McHugh; B. Baker; G. McCartin.

The 1979-80 cricket will go down as "Warrandyte's year".

Warrandyte Cricket Club's 125th anniversary year was also one of the most successful in their history.

The Dytes fielded 10 teams in the Ringwood District competition and brought home five premierships - including A-grade.

After setting the pace all season, the A-graders beat Ainslie Park by 10 wickets in the grand final.

The other premiership winners are the A-Reserves. E-grade and the Under-12 teams.

Quite apart from the A-grade success, the club are delighted with the Under-12's performance.

"It is a tribute to the time and work that has gone into junior cricket in this town," club president Geoff Day told the Diary.

Cricket ends with a bang

"More particularly, it is a tribute to Bruce Kline. our junior administrator."

Warrandyte set up the A-grand final victory by dismissing Ainslie Park for 124 in the first innings.

Fred Jungwirth took the bowling honours, with 4-39.

The Dytes were in trouble themselves at 9-165 in reply, but captain Stan Davis and Max Summers hit them into a winning

position with a last-wicket stand of 83.

Warrandyte led by 124 on the first innings and were left to score only 88 for victory when Ainslie Park made 9/211 in their second visit to the crease.

Steve Pascoe returned the best bowling figures, 4-79.

The Dytes made the runs without loss, openers Richard Bowen and John Chapman scoring 43 and 40 respectively.

The A-reserve grand final was a much closer affair, with Warrandyte getting home by just five runs from

Heathmont Uniting. Brian Chapman top-

scored for Warrandyte, with 74.

The E-grade were never in danger against Norwood and won by seven wickets.

The Under 12 teams both scored resounding victories, by 107 and 137 runs respectively.

GRAND FINAL DETAILS

A-GRADE

Warrandyte 248 (J. Chapman 66, M. Summers 58, M. Davis 27, B. Kline 24, S. Davis 23 n.o.) and 0-88 (J. Chapman, n.o. 40, R. Bowen n.o. 43) d. Ainslie Park 124 (F. Jungwirth 4/39, G. Taylor 2/26, S. Pascoe 2/13) and 9/211 (S. Pascoe 4/79, M. Summers 2/25, F. Jungwirth 2/55).

A-RESERVE Warrandyte 261 (B. Chapman 74 n.o., J. McCartin 58, D. McCartin 54) d. Heathmont Uniting 255 (D. Stanley 3/62, B. Summers 2/27).

E-GRADE

Warrandyte 275 (I. World 84. G. Edwards 54) and 3/45 d. Norwood 113 (G. Edwards 8/55) and 206 (I. World 4/56).

UNDER-12A

Warrandyte 253 (D. Peters 88, J. Hansen 39) d. Croydon North 146 (T. Sturesteps 4/34, R. Kline 2/31).

UNDER-12B Warrandyte 293 (B. McHugh 90, G. Baker 45 n.o., G. Greber 35) d. North Ringwood 156 (G. McCartin 4/26 Incl. hattrick, A. Snaiders 2/43).