

The all-conquering Warrandyte women's cricket team. That's proud coach Brian Chapman (without a cap), captain Jenni McLaws on the far right, and Jenni's dog Ashleigh getting into the picture.

Lovely! Lady Dytes Warrandyte's women cricketers put the seal on an outstanding season late last month by winning the VWCA A-Grade East premiership. The lady Dytes lost only two matches for the season and are automatically promoted to the Pennant Reserve grade

matches for the season and are automatically promoted to the Pennant Reserve grade for 1992-93. Their premiership was Warrandyte's first since instant success when the women's team was

formed in 1975-76. The Dytes wrapped up the pennant by mid-afternoon on the third day of the final against Melbourne.

They had batted first and made 191, captain Jenni McLaws topscoring with 64 and Sharon Egeberg and Angela Tunbridge contributing 42 and 39 respectively.

ing 42 and 39 respectively. Warrandyte put their total beyond Melbourne's reach with tight bowling and fielding which ranged from disciplined to brilliant.

Egeberg completed a fine all-round performance by sending down 31.3 overs for four wickets and just 21 runs. McLaws took two for 48 from 33 economical overs and Jenny Chapman chipped in with two for 13 as Melbourne were bowled out for lust 117.

were bowled out for just 117. Elizabeth McGhee took two magnificent one-handed catches and accepted a throw from Tunbridge to end the Melbourne innings with a run-out.

Warrandyte's other premiership hopes, the under-14s, were narrowly beaten by South Ringwood in their grand final. The Dytes made 8/159 from the allotted 60 overs and South Ringwood hit the winning run in the 56th over of their innings. At Warrandyte Cricket

At Warrandyte Cricket Club's presentation night, just a few hours after their final, women's coach Brian Chapman and captain McLaws were each presented with a ball used in the match.

Jenni won the Allan Chapman Memorial Shield as woman cricketer of the year, topped the bowling averages, received another mounted ball for a 10-wicket haul in a match during the season, and a miniature bat for a century.

Jenny Chapman was presented with a sliver tray in recognition of her eight years of captaincy before this season. Finals details:

Women: Warrandyte 191 (McLaws 64, Egeberg 42, Tunbridge 39) d Melbourne 117 (Egeberg 4/21, McLaws 2/ 48, Chapman 2/13). Under-14s: Warrandyte 8/

Under-14s: Warrandyte 8/ 159 c.c. (Nick Brisbane 40 ret., Matthew Chapman 25, Justin Edwards 28) lost to South Ringwood 5/160 (Ross Anderson 2/35). WCC captain-coach John Sharman dominated the men's presentations, winningthe Jack McAuley Shield as club champion and the senior batting trophy.

The McCartin Family Shield for best clubperson went to Steve Pascoe and the Daryl Valentine Shield for club cricketer of the season to Dale Vitiritti.

Other trophy winners:

Seniors: C.Snaidero (bowling), M. Day (fielding), A.Hood (captain's award).

Seconds: S. Pascoe (batting), D. Watts (bowling), J. Graf (fielding), G. Creber (captain's award).

Thirds (in above order): D. Vitiritti, S. Haworth, R. Neagle, M. Elliot.

Fourths: C. Grybas, D. Stockley, S. Logan, S. Warr.

Fifths: M. Wilks, C. Fernando, S. Carroll, J. Nasser.

Women: A. Tunbridge (batting), K. McGhee (fielding), E. McGhee (captain's award).

Under-14s: A. De Lee (batting and Les Adams Shield as junior champion), S. Tippett (bowling), M. Chapman (fielding), R. Anderson (manager's award). Special award to De Leo for making five consecutive 40s retired.

Under-12s: Bailing: J. Russell (batting and Derek Hilton Encouragement Trophy), C. Cahir (bowling), A. Beardall (fielding)

Back row from left: Sharon Mooney, Lib McGhee, Kay Thomas, Maria McGhee, Karen Mooney, Brian Chapman (coach), Colleen Farrelly, Ben Jones (scorer), Angela Tunbridge, Jenni McLaws (captain). Front row from left: Nadine Richings, Sharyn Egeberg (v/c), Kath McGhee, Jenny Chapman, Cathy Wangeman. Absent: Amanda Uu

Sec.