Captain coach and Russell Jenzen (left) and Matthew Sazenis with some of their presentation night spoils. champ!

Captain-coach Russell Jenzen has taken out Warrandyte Cricket Club's senior club champion award.

Jenzen, in his first year with the club, also won the first eleven batting honours, amassing 350 runs over the season, and was awarded a special trophy for his match-winning 122 against Ainslie Park.

One of the leading players in the Ringwood District Cricket Association for many years, Jenzen also performed consistently with the ball, taking 26 wickets.

Up-and-coming youngster Matthew Sazenis finished the season on a high note by win-ning the Maria McGhee Memorial Award as the best-per-formed junior when playing in the senior competition. He also won the Les Adams Memorial Shield for best-performed jun-

Sazenis was also captain of



the club's Under-16 premiership team and won their batting

He played every game in the second eleven last season and will be pressing for first eleven selection next season.

The surprise result at the Dytes' presentation night on April 4 was the first eleven bowling, which was won by vet-

and a player during the 1970s and '80s, White returned to the team last season after a 14-year absence. His bowling proved a valuable asset as he was able to consistently contain one end with his tight off-spin.

Outstanding young all-round sportsman Jason Cloke won the

Darryl Valentine Memorial Award for champion player outside the first eleven.

Cloke, 17, has been recruited by Collingwood Football Club and his cricket with Warrandyte was limited because of training commitments. But he showed enough in his few appearances with the first eleven to suggest he will be a player of the future for the Dytes.

Long-serving paceman Chris Snaidero took out the second

eleven bowling award.

The club made a special award to Cheryl Dobble in recognition of her work with the iuniors

Cheryl was a leading player in the establishment of the Milo Have-a-Go cricket program in Warrandyte which teaches the fundamental skills of the game to children aged between five and 11. The program she organises at the local recreation reserve every Sunday morning during the cricket season is the biggest of its kind in the state, with more than 100 children

taking part.
Award winners:
FIRST ELEVEN: Batting:
Russell Jenzen. Bowling: Robert

White. Fielding: Cameron Day. Captain's Award: Shane Baker. SECOND ELEVEN: Batting: No qualifiers. Bowling: Chris Snaidero. Fielding: Matthew Gamble. Captain's Award: Dean

THIRD ELEVEN: Batting: Nathan Croft. Bowling: John Prangley. Fielding: Tim Chapman.

Captain's Award: Jeremy Coates. FOURTH ELEVEN: Batting: No qualifiers. Bowling: Andrew Raby. Fielding: Shane Barras. Captain's Award: Aljie Sazenis.

Stewart Smead received a special award for his 127 not out against Kilsyth in the fourths.
Senior club champion: Russell

Jenzen. Club champion (for grades other than the first eleven): Jason Cloke. Maria McGhee Memorial Award for best junior in senior competition: Matthew Sazenis. Clubperson of the year: Cheryl Dobble.

Juniors' double delight

gave an assurance that the future of the game in this town is in good hands by fielding five teams in 2000-01 and winning

two premierships.

The Under-12/4 team went through the season undefeated, continuing an astonishing run of success. The same boys were undefeated in the two previous seasons as Under-10s.

In the grand final they defeated Kilsyth, scording 6-104 (M. Canham 30 not out, Ayrton Dehmel 21) to 9-98 (A. Dehmel 2-13, P. Cudmore 2-8). Dehmel was named player of the match.

The Under-16s overcame the loss of several players to school sport during the season to make the finals.

Their grand final victory, also over Kilsyth, was a fitting reward for a real team effort throughout the season.
They scored 5-70 in the grand

final (Matthew Sazenis 31) to Kilsyth's 63 (man of the match Ben Mason 5-15, C. Cloke 2-8). Junior award winners for the

UNDER-16: Batting: M.

Sazenis. Bowling: J. McKellar. Fielding: A. Gamble. Coach's award: J. Taylor.
UNDER-14: Batting: B. Morgan.

Bowling: D. Kittelty. Fielding B. Taylor, Coach's award: R

UNDER-12 (Grade 2): Batting: R. Hoiberg. Bowling E. Blyth-Elvin. Fielding: B. Pettigrove. Coach's award: T. Maddocks.

UNDER-12 (Grade 4): Batting: A. Dehmel. Bowling A. Hukin. Fielding: P. Cudmore. Coach's award: T. Hookey.

New date for WCC AGM

Warrandyte Cricket Club have put back their annual general meet-

ing to Wednesday, April 18.

The meeting was originally scheduled for April 11, but that date clashed with a major awards night for the Ringwood District Cricket Association. The AGM will be held in the club's social rooms, starting at 7.30 pm.



Left: Warrandyte's unbeaten Under-12/4 side. A remarkable winning sequence maintained. Right: The *Dytes* premier . Under-16s. A real team effort all season.

